Home Tech | Little Wonders | Home Base | In Focus | Reminder 



Godrej Awards 2004

Best Business Award:

Godrej Industries Ltd. - Chemicals. The Award was presented to Mathew Eipe, Executive Director and President (Chemicals), and his team.

Adi Godrej congratulates Mathew Eipe
R-L: Adi Godrej congratulates Mathew Eipe on winning the Best Business Award.


  • Sales Growth: 10 per cent.

  • Profit Before Tax (PBT) Growth: 32 per cent.

  • Economic Value Added (EVA) Improvement: Rs. 19 crores.

  • Sales Target Achievement: 101 per cent.

  • PBT Target Achievement: 133 per cent.

Outstanding Leader Award:

Sanjay K. Gupta, Head, Animal Feeds (West), Godrej Agrovet Ltd.

Sanjay Gupta
L-R: Sanjay Gupta receives the Outstanding Leader Award from Bipin Mehta.


  • 16 per cent volume, 24 per cent contribution, 67 per cent PBT and 151 per cent EVA.

  • Managed with a negative working capital of Rs. 372 lakhs for Animal Feeds (West). PBT Growth: 32 per cent.

  • Doubled PBT of Animal Feeds (West) in the last two years from Rs. 400 lakhs to Rs. 790 lakhs.

Outstanding Team:

Baddi Factory Team, Godrej Consumer Products Ltd.
Dr. R.K. Sinha, A. Rangarajan, R.V. Jog, Rajesh Tiwari, Rajesh Chandra, Atul Shambhu and A.B. Bozorgi.


  • Commissioned Baddi factory in a record time of five-and-a-half months.

  • The first unit to start production in Himachal Pradesh after the fiscal benefits announcement.

  • Project expected to generate Rs. 13.75 crores EVA in 2004-2005.

Outstanding Brand Team:

HIT Team, Godrej Sara Lee Ltd.
Rajesh Kumar, Ashutosh Tiwari, Manish Tipre and Arun Sriram.


  • 65 per cent of the entire aerosol market.

  • Growth: primary (35 per cent) and secondary (33 per cent).

  • Reduced cost of production on strategic new SKUs by 20 per cent through value engineering.

  • Extended to coils and refill categories to add a further 27 per cent growth in brand revenues in 2003-2004.

Outstanding Newcomer:

R. Anand, Regional Sales Manager (South), Godrej Consumer Products Ltd.

R. Anand
R-L: Tanya Dubash presents the Outstanding Newcomer Award to R. Anand.


  • Joined as Regional Sales Manager (South) in December 2002.

  • Exhibited strong leadership skills and a structured, analytical approach to increase sales in the region.

  • Highest sales growth: 12 per cent.

  • Lowest employee turnover among the four regions.

Outstanding Innovation:

Sofit Team (Godrej Industries Ltd. – Foods)
M.Y. Varma, P.B. Ramesh, Gopal Sharma, Ajay Minocha and Shreyash Sigtia.


  • Successfully launched soymilk blended with real fruit pulp.

  • Won the top innovation award Taste 2003 at ANUGA 2003, the world’s largest food fair at Cologne, Germany.

  • Won the Product Innovation Award at Beverage & Others, 2003 given by Tetrapak.

Achievement Outside Work:

Jayesh Shah, Godrej Industries Ltd. - Chemicals.

Jayesh Shah (left)
All smiles: Jayesh Shah (left) receives the Godrej Award for his varied achievements (outside work) from Dorab Mistry.


  • Active member of the Rotary Club.

  • Adopted an old age home and a school, and created a shelter for children.

  • Conducted training programmes for senior citizens.

  • Spends five to six hours per week on social service activities.

Godrej Navratna Awards 2004

or the last two years, Godrej No.1, in association with Doordarshan Sahyadri, has been presenting the Godrej No.1 Sahyadri Navratna Puraskars. This is one of the most prestigious events in Maharashtra. This year the following nine special achievers (read, Navratnas) who have made a significant contribution to society in various fields of work were felicitated on 14 April, 2004 at Doordarshan’s Worli grounds:

  1. Godrej No.1 Natya Ratna (Drama): Prabhakar Panshikar

  2. Godrej No.1 Vaibhav Ratna (Industrialist): Dr. Bhatkar

  3. Godrej No.1 Ratna Sourab (Sports): Anjali Bhagwat

  4. Godrej No.1 Shiksha Ratna (Educational): Shankar Rao Magar

  5. Godrej No.1 Ratna Sharda (Women): Reziya Patel

  6. Godrej No.1 Swar Ratna (Music): Shridhar Phadke

  7. Godrej No.1 Ratna Darpan (Journalist): Vijay Kulekar

  8. Godrej No.1 Seva Ratna (Social Worker): Anil Awchat

  9. Godrej No.1 Chitra Ratna (Films): Sachin Pilgaonkar

The highlight of this year’s function was the presence of Swarsamragni Lata Mangeshkar, who graced the function and regaled the audience with her wonderful speech.

The evening also saw some great performances by the internationally renowned children’s orchestra, “Orchestra of the Warna”, a performance by Avdhoot Gupte, the famous Marathi and Hindi pop singer, whose albums are popular in the remix-pop circuit, lavani by Aditi Bhagwat, a film actress and acclaimed dancer, and Marathi stage classical songs by Rahul Deshpande and Swarangi Marathe.

The awards were telecast on 1 May.




New Products and  Relaunches




Sofit: A combination of Soy milk and natural fruit juices.

Xs Juice / Nectar available in four flavours: Mango, Sweet Orange, Litchi and Pineapple.






Sunrice Oil.

Sunshakti Oil: Now, also available in 1 litre pouch.

RGNO (Refined Ground Nut Oil): Now, available in a new jar with oil level indicator.



                                                                                        Courtesy: Gospel, April 2004